XXXI Ironman Lanzarote Winners


by Buzzers 544 Views comments

The French Arthur Horseau and the British Lydia Dant have been the absolute winners of the thirty-first edition of the Ironman Lanzarote, the longest running of those held in Europe, a test that had excellent weather conditions throughout the day.

One of the toughest triathlon events in the world started at 07:00 in the morning in Puerto del Carmen, with just over a thousand athletes jumping into the sea to complete the 3.8-kilometre segment swimming.

Next, they covered a good part of the island by bicycle, with a 180-kilometre route, and ended up again in Puerto del Carmen with a 42.2-kilometre run on foot.

The Dutch Niek Heldoorn

As often happens, the 42.2-kilometre foot race that takes place along Avenida de Las Playas in Puerto del Carmen handed down its verdict. Frenchman Arthur Horseau,

Arthur HorseauHe crossed the finish line as the winner of the thirty-first edition of Ironman Lanzarote, using a final time of 8 hours, 22 minutes and 21 seconds.

Second place on the podium went to Niek Heldoorn (8:24:48), and third would be the Australian Cameron Wurf (8:30,:17), who had to settle for the bronze medal after leading the test for many kilometers .

In the female category, Lydia Dant

Liesbeth Verbiest (10:06:10) and the third position of the French Jeanne Collonge (10:20:53)

The Spanish Jodi Montravedahe stayed at the gates of the Ironman Lanzarote podium, finishing the test in fourth position with a time of 8 hours, 43 minutes and 59 seconds, improving the eighth place achieved in the last edition.

The Spanish Gonzalo Fuentes crossed the finish line as seventh.